The Sherritt Hydrometallurgy Award was established in 1976 by Sherritt Gordon Mines Limited, now Sherritt International Corporation, to recognize significant contributions in the field of Hydrometallurgy. The award consists of dual, engraved medals and a cash prize. The Hydrometallurgy Section of the Metallurgy and Materials Society of CIM selects recipients of the award, usually on an annual basis. The award is presented by a representative of Sherritt International Corporation at the Annual Hydrometallurgy Section Meeting.

Past Recipients of the Sherritt Hydrometallurgy Award

1977 - G.M. Ritcey
1978 - A.W. Ashbrook
1979 - G. Van Weert
1980 - D.A. Huggins
1981 - R.W. Stanley
1982 - G.M. Swinkels
1983 - V.A. Ettel
1984 - J.E. Dutrizac
1985 - D.R. Weir
1986 - R. Berezowsky
1987 - P. Garritsen
1988 - V.I. Lakshmanan
1989 - R.C. Kerby
1990 - P. Claessens
1991 - B.R. Conard
1992 - I.M. Masters
1993 - L.I. Rosato
1994 - D. Dreisinger
1995 - B. Harris
1996 - B. Krysa
1997 - C.A. Fleming
1998 - D.W. Ashman
1999 - G. Houlachi
2000 - G. Demopoulos
2001 - C.J. Ferron
2002 - I. Mihaylov
2003 - K. Fraser
2004 - V.G. Papangelakis

2005 - M.J. Collins
2006 - P. Kondos
2007 - J. F. Turgeon
2008 - No Award
2009 - D. Kerfoot
2010 - D. Dixon
2011 - M.E. Chalkley
2012 - E. Krause
2013 - Y. Choi
2014 - E. Peek
2015 - E. Lam
2016 - L. Centomo
2017 - J. Goode
2018 - T.T. Chen

  2019 - No Award
2020 - M.J. Dry
2021 - Niels Verbaan

Conditions of the Award

  1. The award shall be made from time to time as circumstances warrant in recognition of significant contributions to the advancement of Hydrometallurgy through research, plant design and operations, education or CIM affairs.
  2. No more than one award may be made in any one year.
  3. It shall be awarded to a CIM member who is either a Canadian citizen or an individual who, while resident in Canada, made significant contributions to the advancement of Hydrometallurgy.
  4. The adjudication of the award shall be made by the Awards Committee of the Hydrometallurgy Section of the Metallurgy and Materials Society of CIM. The Committee shall consist of (a) an Awards Chairman, appointed from within the Hydrometallurgy Section, who is either a previous Sherritt Hydrometallurgy Award winner or otherwise ineligible to receive the award, and (b) the five immediately previous Sherritt Hydrometallurgy Award winners. If the Awards Chairman is one of these, the sixth most recent award winner will join the Committee.
  5. Nominations for the award shall be made in writing by not fewer than five (5) members of CIM, to the Hydrometallurgy Section Awards Chairman. A testimonial statement giving clearly the reasons that make the nominee a suitable candidate shall accompany each nomination. Other supporting data (e.g. curriculum vitae) can be included if desired.
  6. Nominees shall remain in nomination for three years, and at the end of that period shall be eligible for renomination in the manner specified by Conditions 4 and 6.
  7. At the completion of the Awards Committee adjudication, the Awards Chairman shall notify the Hydrometallurgy Section Chairman of the Committee's selection.
  8. The Hydrometallurgy Section Chairman should, in turn, forward the dossier on the recipient to MetSoc's Awards Committee Chairman for approval by this Committee and subsequent ratification by the MetSoc Board of Directors.
  9. The award, including the testimonial, should be presented at the Annual Hydrometallurgy Section Meeting. The Section may invite the recipient to deliver a special lecture during the Section Meeting.

Additional Info on other MetSoc of CIM Awards